Age

    Wow, can you believe it?  Those of you who have known me since I was born will most likely find this more shocking than I do, but I am an adult.  Is that something that you can fully understand?  Do you comprehend that?  Does that make sense to you in the slightest?  If you really ponder it, and spend time in thinking about it, you will fully realize that I am no longer that cute little girl anymore.  I am a full grown woman.  I personally, am having a hard time accepting this fact.  

    My entire life, I have been looked down upon, I have been called a kid,  I have been told I am too young, and I have been told that I am too young to understand.  All my life I have been too young.  And now?  Now I am expected to act mature, expected to be old enough, and expected to understand.  By that logic, can't you see something wrong there?  If society expects me/us to fully comprehend and accept our new status, label, and knowledge as rapidly as today becomes yesterday, then can't you see something wrong there?  I have only been old enough to legally call myself an adult for 5 years.  That does not account for the other 17 years spent as a minor.  Most of my known life has been spent as someone looked down upon, or as someone who was too young.  Do you really expect me to suddenly put on my new title?  It's just not possible.  That's why you have college students making the choices they do.  It's tough letting go and taking responsibility for your actions.  It's difficult owning up to who you are.  But when you look at the heart of the issue, like our parents, we are having a hard time letting go too.

    A couple nights ago I came to the realization that I was 22.  Almost to become 23.  And not short away from 25.  When did that happen?  The last thing I remember was graduating high school and moving out at 18, and now suddenly I'm 22, have 3 degrees, have a car, a house, a great career, a life of my own, and I have a boyfriend.  I have someone who loves me, and I love him.  We want to spend the rest of our lives together.  Realizing that I will be married within the next 2 years or so really brought the reality and truth to all this.

    Adult life is not at all what I expected it to be.  You read stories, and make assumptions, and try to immagine what life will be like once you have hit that magic number and vuala!  You are an adult.  But truth be told, it doesn't happen like that.  You stay the same.  The only thing that changes is the number of years that pass by and add to this label we call "age".  I don't think we can ever truly "act our age".  I think all we can actually truely do, is act sensibly and use what knowedge and wisdom we have gained from growing up and personal experience.  THAT, is where true age comes from.