Long Time No Read

Hello all.  I know it has been a while since I last updated, but there is actually a reason for that.  I was instructed to not update any website or social media on anything related to JET until given permission to do so.  I was told to avoid updating my website entirely until further notice.  So If you missed me, that is why.  After my seminar I had this past weekend, I was given the OK and so here I am to provide you with more information.

The reason they said that, is because this year in particular, there have been number of new JETs posting cultually inappropriate topics on their sites.  As a result, several of them were let go and asked not to reapply in the future while others were already put on probation and the employment term hasn't even started.  I am not sure why this year's JETs are so strange, but nonetheless, we were restricted.  I am not sure if everyone was given this same "do not post anything" order, but I know that I was so I followed it.  

I will be placed in Maebashi, Gunma.  It is the more suburban area of Gunma.  My apartment is about a 10 minute walk from the station, which makes me happy.  I am really not wanting to buy or lease a car in Japan and am trying my best to avoid it at all costs.  I will know more once I am there for sure, but this has at least given me some peace of mind.  I did, however, obtain my international driver's permit.  It was very easy to get, and looks very unofficial.  It is valid in over 90 countries.  My goodness.

I depart Phoenix, AZ on July 24th, there will be a bon voyage party in LA then the following day we will all leave the US and head to Tokyo.  There are 3 different departure groups.  I am part of the first group (Group A).  My neighbor is from Canada and she will be departing from group B.  So we won't exactly get to meet each other right away, but at least it will only be about a week apart from each other.  She is bringing her husband along which will be good for my husband, mostly because we are similar in age.  I have spoken to her on FB and she seems very nice and we have similar interests.  I can't wait to meet her! ^^

A lot of my packing worries were tamed during the seminar as well as finacial worries.  But the finance part of it was aliviated because of what my predecessor said, which is going to be different for every person so that info cannot be generalized.  I found out I will need less money than I thought at start up, but my other friend is going to need twice as much.  It all depends on where you live, and what kind of subsedy contract the board of education gets with the apartment.

Anyway, I have to get back to work so I will be updating again very soon.  

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me either via email or under the guestbook section.