Butterflies

Whenever I see butterflies, I am always reminded of God and His love for me.  God has a plan for me.  He knows where my life will take me in the future,  and it will be beautiful.

I saw a butterfly today while I was walking to the computer lab.  I love butterflies.  I think they are the most beautiful creatures God has ever created.  They each have such a grand story and marvelous journey stories.  This poor insect has to work so hard to get to the end goal.  They spend their days as an ugly catapillar eating and eating.  No one likes them, no one wants to hold them.  They freak people out.  Kids want to play with them, but if they are hairy, we need to move them or kill them because we don't know if they are poisoness or not.  Its entire life is filled with depressing thoughts and disgust.  Girls scream with they see one, and little boys run them over with their bikes or skateboards.  These bugs know what they want, they know what they are able to become.  They know that they will become beautiful.  They know how to achieve this goal, yet so many things get in the way of that.  

My aunt found a catepillar in her salad once.  She purchased the salad from a store.  It was the bagged kind.  That's how you know how fresh it is.  When a catepillar is munching on the leaves.  I actually had an inch worm in one of mine before.  I am sure the poor things were confused but at least they weren't starving lol.

These bugs spend their lives getting fat on food.  It sounds so depressing.  I almost feel sorry for them.  I wonder if they get sick from eating so much.  After they get sufficiently fat, they have to build an encasing so they can morph into a butterfly.  That sounds claustrophobic, and boring.  I don't know what I would do if I was in a cacoon for weeks.  Plus they hang upside down.  My head would be hurting from all the blood rushing to my head.  I'm pretty sure that much blood to your head is really bad for you.  It's a good thing bugs don't have blood.  They have goo.  

I don't know what happens in the cacoon.  I don't know if it hurts or if some of them never break free, I do know that it takes a lot of energy.  In fact, if the butterfly does not find a food source almost immediately following "hatching" then it will die.  What makes it harder is that they cannot fly when they break free.  Their wings are wet and smushed.  Once they dry, they fly for the first time, then they eat the sweetness of necter for the first time.  Then their life flips around.  All the hatred, disgust, and slow movements have turned into love, awe, and quick delicate movements.  The once creepy looking catepillar has turned into a beloved creature that is loved by all.  I don't know of a single person who dislikes butterflies.  They are elegant and lovely creatures.

If God can take care of a poor ugly catepillar, and help it become something new, then why would it be any different for us?  Bugs don't have souls, and bugs will never live forever, but we do.  We matter.  We have purpose and meaning.  Our lives are here for a reason.  Sure life may have sucked when we were younger, but the beauty is coming.  If life is really hard right now, just remember that you are in your cacoon.  Things get worse before they get better.  When the storm passes, you will have wings to fly.  And it will be beautiful.

If you are having a bad day, think of butterflies.  God always sends one my way when I am having a really bad day.  It always cheers me up.